Aperture Foundation PhotoBook Awards

Paris Photo–Aperture Foundation PhotoBook Awards Winners announcement, November 15, 2013. © Marc Domage/Paris Photo

Oct. 8 – 12, 2014

Memorial Hall

For the Opening Week at Memorial Hall, FotoFocus presents a look at the second annual Paris Photo-Aperture Foundation PhotoBook Award winners.

Announced at Paris Photo 2013, Rosângela Rennó received the PhotoBook of the Year prize for A01 COD.] — A27 [S | COD.23] (self-published), a work that, according to the Paris Photo website, focuses "on the disappearance of the images of Augusto Malta and his sons, who worked for the city for over fifty years." Oscar Monzón was awarded the First PhotoBook prize for Karma (RVB Books/Dalpine). The jury also selected one book for special recognition: War/Photography: Images of Armed Conflict and Its Aftermath (Museum of Fine Arts, Houston/ Yale University Press).

A jury of five international specialists included Vince Aletti, photography critic for the New Yorker; Julien Frydman, director of Paris Photo; Lesley A. Martin, publisher of the Aperture book program and of The PhotoBook Review; Mutsuko Ota, editorial director of IMA magazine; and Barbara Tannenbaum, curator of photography at the Cleveland Museum of Art. A shortlist of 30 titles by Delphine Burtin, Mitch Epstein, William Gedney, Simon Menner, Jin Ohashi, Taryn Simon, Sipke Visser and others will be on view.